Important Dates

  • Proposal Submission Deadline: March 1, 2018 (5pm Pacific Time)
  • Notification of Acceptance: May 3, 2018
  • Camera Ready Copy Due: July 15th, 2018

Topics of Interest

VLDB 2018 invites submissions for demo proposals on any topic of interest, broadly defined, to the data management community. Accepted demonstration papers will appear in the PVLDB proceedings.

Demo Proposals

The proposal must describe the demonstrated system and state the novelty and significance of the contribution to data management research, technologies, and/or its applications. The proposal should pay special attention to describing the exact demonstration scenarios for the given system. This should include how the audience will experience the demo, what kind of functionality is supported, user scenarios, interface and interaction options, etc. Proposals must be submitted in camera-ready format using the PVLDB formatting instructions, and are limited to 4 pages, inclusive of ALL material.

Video Submissions

We specifically encourage the submission of a demonstration video (of up to 5 minutes, 30MB max. file size) together with your demonstration proposal via CMT. Both the demonstration proposal and the video will then be accessible by the reviewers. Your video should summarize your demonstration and also audio-visually highlight its most important aspects, such as the user interface, options for user interactions, the system setup, etc. The video should be submitted in MPEG/AVI format and be playable by the common media players.


To minimize biases in the evaluation process, we use CMT's conflict management system, through which authors should flag conflicts with the Demo Program Committee members. All authors of a submission must declare conflicts on CMT prior to the submission deadline.

You have a conflict with X:

  • If you and X have worked in the same university or company in the past two years, or will be doing so in the next six months on account of an accepted job offer. Different campuses do not count as the same university for this purpose -- UC Berkeley does not have a conflict with UC Santa Barbara.
  • If you and X have collaborated recently, as evidenced in a joint publication or jointly organized event in the past two years, or are collaborating now.
  • If you are the PhD thesis advisor of X or vice versa, irrespective of how long ago this was.
  • If X is a relative or close personal friend.

Submissions with undeclared conflicts or spurious conflicts will be DESK REJECTED. There will be NO exceptions to this rule.

Originality and Duplicate Submissions

Note that demonstration proposals must not have been published, or be under consideration for publication, at any other forum. Demonstration proposals should specifically focus on the genuine aspects of the described systems and the intended interaction with the audience; they should not be a short version of an existing conference paper (whether or not this may have been published elsewhere).

Demo Submission

Demonstration proposals must be submitted electronically, in PDF format, using the Conference Management Tool for VLDB 2018. When creating a new paper submission, you will be given the option to choose a track. Choose the "Demonstrations" track for your demo proposal. A respective option to upload the demonstration video will be made available.

Demo Track Chairs

Ming Hua (Facebook)
Vanessa Braganholo (Fluminense Federal University, Brazil)

Demo Track PC Members

Albert Weichselbraun, University of Applied Sciences Chur, Switzerland
Ashish Sureka, Ashoka University, India
Bertram Ludaescher, UC Davis, USA
Bin Jiang, UBER, USA
Bingsheng He, National University of Singapore, Singapore
Boris Glavic, IIT Chicago, USA
Carmem Hara, Universidade Federal do Paraná, Brazil
Christos H. Makris, University of Patras, Greece
Daniel de Oliveira, Universidade Federal Fluminense, Brazil
Daning Hu, University of Zurich, Switzerland
Dmitri V. Kalashnikov, AT&T Labs Research, USA
Eduardo Ogasawara, CEFET-RJ, Brazil
Eli Cortez, Microsoft, USA
Eric Lo, Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Fei Chiang, McMaster University, Canada
Felix Martin Schuhknecht, Saarland University, Germany
Flavius Frasincar, Erasmus University Rotterdam, Netherlands
Flip Korn, Google, USA
Georgia Koutrika, Athena Research Center, Greece
Gerome Miklau, UMass Amherst, USA
Guoliang Li, Tsinghua University, China
Harald Kosch, University Passau, Germany
Huy Vo, City College of New York, USA
Jason Jung, Chung-Ang University, South Korea
Jiannan Wang, Simon Fraser University, Canada
Jitao Sang, Beijing Jiaotong University, China
João Eduardo Ferreira, USP, Brazil
Johann Gamper, Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy
Jorge Quiane Ruiz, Qatar Computing Research Institute, Qatar
Katja Hose, Aalborg University, Denmark
Kyriakos Mouratidis, Singapore Management University, Singapore
Leon Zhao, City University of Hong Kong, China
Leong Hou U, University of Macau, Macau
Luciano Barbosa, Universidade Federal de Pernambuco, Brazil
Maya Ramanath, IIT Delhi, India
Medha Atre, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, India
Michael Fire, University of Washington, USA
Mirella Moro, Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais, Brazil
Paolo Merialdo, Università Roma Tre, Italy
Paolo Missier, Newcastle University, United Kingdom
Paulo Cortez, University of Minho, Portugal
Rachel Pottinger, University of British Columbia, Canada
Ricardo Torres, UNICAMP, Brazil
Sai Wu, Zhejiang University, China
Sairam Gurajada, IBM Research, Almaden, USA
Shuai Ma, Beihang University, China
Srikanta Bedathur, IBM India Research Lab, India
Sudipto Das, Microsoft Research, USA
Thomas Heinis, Imperial College, United Kingdom
Valéria Times, Universidade Federal de Pernambuco, Brazil
Verena Kantere, National Technical University of Athens, Greece
Wenchao Zhou, Georgetown University, USA
Xiao Wu, Southewst Jiaotong University, China
Xiaochun Yang, Northeastern University, China
Xike Xie, University of Science and Technology of China, China
Yanif Ahmad, Johns Hopkins University, USA
Yannis Katsis, UC San Diego, USA
Yannis Papakonstantinou, UC San Diego, USA
Yi Chen, New Jersey Institute of Technology, USA
Zakaria Maamar, Zayed University, United Arab Emirates
Zeke Wang, ETH Zurich, Switzerland